Spring, makes me think of lighter knits

Standard


So since I’ve been suffering tremendous pain of sinuses due to the snow molds I can only assume that spring is trying to get here. And that has spawned a whole repitoire of tanks, vests, and short sleeved tops in my rav que. However I had wanted to make this (the basalt tank from knitting nature) for quite some time. I think spring trying to sprung just sent me over the edge. Since i finished puffy, (she’s waiting on buttons then I promise pictures) I wanted to start on something else of relative size that was for ME (christmas knitting has imbued me with a need for selfish knitting lately).
I have the first hexagon done. After researching it on Rav I concluded to go down a size for a better fit (the weight loss combined with a terminal fear of knowing my actual size has made for some strange knitted bedfellows let me tell you). Now I know my actual bust is 44inches. So I went with the 42 (aka the large) and I hope that was the right decision. The whole open belly part worries me a little but I figure I can always throw a cami under it if I’m feeling super concious. No one wants to see that, least of all me.

And over the week with all the house cleaning I’ve been doing I managed to get it in me to finish spinning escuary from spunky eclectic. I then wound it into a cake and plied it back on itself, i figured I’d get more yardage that way than if i navajo plied it. There’s not a lot of yardage since it’s done aran weight or perhaps DK (i’d wager somewhere in the relm of 18 sts/4 inch) but it’s very pretty, still I see what Amy’s talking about it’s a merino tencel blend and I had a hard time keeping it spun consistantly. It will probably become a headband or something similar. I don’t think there’s yardage enough for a hat, although I could mix and match for the time being it’s going to be set and put away for a rainy day.

About sadieruin

Sadie is an intrepid fibre-file who can be found knitting, spinning, dying, or designing knit patterns when she's not at work. Her sock pattern "Mermaid's Lagoon" can be found in the Summer '09 issue of Knitty.com. Be sure to keep up with her knitting, spinning, dyeing (and occasionally weaving) exploits here.

Leave a Reply

