christmas knitting 101

Standard

Josephine's Sweater

So I started in on Josephine’s Christmas gift, a sweater (all three neices are getting a sweater, Zibbie’s is done and now I’m onto Josephine’s).

The details:

Pattern: Yoked Cardigan by Hannah Fetig

Yarn: Marcella by  Eaton’s (I found it at Value Village there was a whole bag of it and I immediately thought of christmas gifts for the neiclings).

Since I already made one the pattern is even easier this time around, but the pattern is easy to begin with. I’m not sure if it’s that it’s a simple pattern or that it’s a well written pattern because it is very well written and easy to understand.

Daybreak a.k.a. I am a sheep.

In accordance with the knitting gods I was bitten by the Daybreak bug, although with all the christmas knitting I don’t really forsee this being finished until the new year. Still I cast on with wanton abandon and did some mindless knitting at work.

Details:

Pattern: Daybreak – Stephen West

Yarn: 1 skein Cherry Tree Hill (i forget the color at the moment) 1 skein Wollmeise (color: Ebenholtz)

SNAILS!

My big thrill this week was finishing the second pair of Norweigan snail mittens. I was knitting them for Roxanne, and she’s coming into town at the end of the month, I wanted to have them finished so she could be warm this winter.

I really plowed through them at work (the second mitten took about three days). I had to put my christmas knitting on hold to get these done, as she asked for the pair a long time ago (before it was even remotely cold) I felt that I really should get them done.

Motion Shot

The great thing about Roxanne is that she’s one of those people who knows what quality is, and she knows how much effort goes into knitting. I know that the mittens will be enjoyed and loved. Dispite my dislike of knitting thumbs and the struggle I almost always enevitably have with welts, I know it will be appreciated and used which makes it easier to do.

Now I should go get ready, there’s a craft show today, and I also have to take the dog to the vet for his yearly shots (poor muppet).

About sadieruin

Sadie is an intrepid fibre-file who can be found knitting, spinning, dying, or designing knit patterns when she's not at work. Her sock pattern "Mermaid's Lagoon" can be found in the Summer '09 issue of Knitty.com. Be sure to keep up with her knitting, spinning, dyeing (and occasionally weaving) exploits here.

Leave a Reply

