shawls, shelves, christmas knitting taking a whipping

Standard

 

The main glee of my five days off was getting up the shelves, there is room for more, and there will be more with time. For now the shelves are houseing some collectables and buttons. It feels good to have the whole display getting up, the nightmare before christmas stuff is on another shelf with Andre chillin out.

I was also spinning to take the edge off while I was on my days off. I finished the first bobbin, I’ll probably start the second bobbin when I have my next set of five off, I’m spinning it rather thin because I wanted to try and get 20sts to 4 inches so we’ll see how we do. This is from the Jacob fleece I got raw and then processed and dyed.

I finished blocking the sweaters for Zibbie and Josephine. They are buttoned and ready to be packaged. I really love the pattern, and although I thought I’d get ass backwards sick of knitting the same thing but I think I might make one for myself when I am done.

I am calling this the “Moving woman” even though the pattern says its “the travelling woman” because I started this shawl out of desperation in the last half of october when everything was in boxes and the only yarn I had around was this lovely grey alpaca.

The yarn itself was a trial, it was once something compleatly different, but it didn’t like being that so it got frogged to oblivion. The yarn really picked the pattern more than I did. It knit up quick and then somewhere in the second repeat of Lace Chart A I packed it all away to be taken out when I was done moving. Well when the move was over I had the shawl but not the yarn to finish (it was in a box packed) and when I found the yarn the pattern went missing.

Last night with yarn and pattern in hand at work I was going to finish. Well the shawl had other plans, I couldn’t find my place in the pattern to save my life, so I decided to rip back all of the lace (two repeats man was I choked), and if the yarn still wanted to be the shawl it was going to have to rip back nice because there were no lifelines (still aren’t but I digress). The yarn ripped back so nicely and I was able to get started the lace repeats almost straight aways. So now the shawl is back to where I was before, I have Chart B to finish and then its done, and it will always remind me of this time in my life and the stresses and joys of moving and having ones life so up in the air you feel like your living in a bouncy castle.

Now I should go get ready, Alisha and I are going to get some sushi before I have to work. Yay for sushi!

About sadieruin

Sadie is an intrepid fibre-file who can be found knitting, spinning, dying, or designing knit patterns when she's not at work. Her sock pattern "Mermaid's Lagoon" can be found in the Summer '09 issue of Knitty.com. Be sure to keep up with her knitting, spinning, dyeing (and occasionally weaving) exploits here.

Leave a Reply

