ranty mcRants a lot

Standard

I should be writing my paper… I should and yet I think if I typed one more word about the ‘objective-self’ or PET scans I would want to run screaming off a cliff (and in this flat land a cliff is not the easiest thing to find).

I have been knitting dutifully (if a bit less since the whole paper thing) on the Shawl (which my poor readers I horribly mangled in the last post, it’s the Argus Shawlette by Wendy, Rav link: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/argus-shawlette) and it’s knitting up quite quickly as I’m on the last repeat but may not use all of the yarn from the december shipment, either way, it’s coming along slow and steady.

I also realized I probably haven’t posted a picture of the daybreak shawl:

It was done in cherry tree hill supersock and wollmeise (ebenholtz). I totally adore it and will probably wear the crap out of it once I have blocked it. Blocking will probably occur over the weekend, but right now, I can’t even begin to ruminate on blocking.

In other news, news that kind of pertains to knitting but only in a peripheral kind of way, I want to talk about soap. Yes soap. Not just soap but laundry soap (see you wash knitting, albeit not nessesarily in a washing machine but whatever). It is only recently I have noticed that I notice the smell of clothes more. 

Not in a bad way, but I have noticed that mom’s blankets smell a whole lot more than the stuff I wash at home. They smell clean, in that chemical tide/bounce/febreeze combo kind of way that makes your nose burn. I agknowledge there are people out there to whom that smell = clean. In fact if the smell wasn’t there I think lots of people would be angry, as we as a culture have become accustomed to the marketing worlds crys of “Clean smells”. Now of corse clean smells different for everyone (Tide, gain, bounce, clorox) I even participate in this sham of clean has a smell, if my batheroom doesn’t smell of bleach and artifical lemons (dispite giving me a rank headache) I don’t think it IS actually clean. But I digress.

Laundry. I have a hate, and very rarely love relationship with laundry. I don’t like doing laundry, but being a single person there is no one around to trade that option off with, so I do the laundry. At agribition I saw soap nuts, I had been looking to get some to try out for ages. The premise being you put these nuts into a cotton bag (provided with the nuts) and throw them in the wash volia (a little vinegar if you want softening). 

I have been useing soap nuts since agribition, and quite frankly reveling in the scentlessness. Until I lost my baggie. I lost the little cotton drawstring baggie that goes along with the nuts, and being not one for wasting or stopping when I actually care enough to throw a load in (read: was in need of pants), I grabbed the purex or whatever cheer maybe, and threw some of that in with a load. When I grabbed the load that was in the dryer to fold, out popped my little soap nut baggie, and I was faced with a dilemma. Do I continue the cheer washed stuff through to the dryer etc, or rewash with the soapnuts?

I went through to the dryer, and subsiquently discovered that whatever was in that blue bottle was quite the smeller, in fact my pants so annoyed me I had to take them off (three cheers for being at home and writing papers, I doubt stripping in public is acceptable). They are now being rewashed, so I won’t have to sit around and smell my pants.

What’s my point (do i have a point or did I just want to use nuts in a post a million times)? This whole ‘clean has a smell’ idea needs to go. My clothes are clean, and they don’t give me a headache, and I’m down with that. I understand the need to have some kind of olefactory barometer for clean (cat litter smells better scoop it) but really, I can assure the people of the world, clean does not smell of febreeze, perhaps the universe needs to lay off the commercials.

And in keeping with soap nuts and knitting, you can wash your woolies with soap nuts, just make a tea out of them (as described on the box) and volia.

About sadieruin

Sadie is an intrepid fibre-file who can be found knitting, spinning, dying, or designing knit patterns when she's not at work. Her sock pattern "Mermaid's Lagoon" can be found in the Summer '09 issue of Knitty.com. Be sure to keep up with her knitting, spinning, dyeing (and occasionally weaving) exploits here.

2 responses »

  1. I love doing laundry! I actually love being at home doing housework stuff (blame my mom, I seem to take after her).
    I’ve had a hard time finding laundry detergent that didn’t smell awful, but I have found some. It’s called Persil Naturals Olive Blossom (and Comfort Naturals Olive Blossom for the softener). And the great thing is, it’s a very subtle barely there scent.

    Can’t wait to see a pic of the blocked shawl. 😀

  2. It’s quite the week for “clean” stinks– I was chewing the very same bark on Monday on my own ranting board.

    I shouldn’t ruminate on blocking– you haven’t the stomachs for it. 😉

Leave a Reply

