an attempt of sorts

Standard

As a knitter I have come to understand many things about knitting for other people, if the knit is asked for then it’s relatively moot, one can assume and hope that it is enjoyed, as the asker actually wanted such a thing (it is rare that such a person crops up but they always do make me giddy). Sometimes it’s hit and miss, I know that when I knit for certain people (my mother or Stacy the SIL) no matter what I produce they will more than likely love it and wear the be-jesus out of it. This also gives me great knitterly glee.

Let’s face it as knitters we are a breed of people that love having durable things around (whether they be felted wine cozies or sweaters with intricate patterns), and we try often in vain to convert people to our ways of believing.  Sometimes this is accomplished (knitted socks are pretty much all you ever want after trying on a well made pair), sometimes it isn’t (generally I find it’s because it doesn’t have a name brand stamped on it but I digress). Either way, we put knitted love into the universe and that is pretty swank if I do say so myself.

Now I did think to myself briefly, I have talked about a specific object a few times now, and as it’s finished I would love to show it off. And then I thought to myself, well it’s going to be a gift (lets not get into an unsolicited knit gift arguement shall we), and does said individual read the blog?  Well my little stat bar tells me unless it’s in some blind and insideous way I probably not. And I am pretty chuffed at how well it turned out (I hate fiddly work, usually only reserved for projects that entertain me greatly).

So i give you the secret project (A D4 dice bag, because I rock the geek chic at all times) to be gifted saturday.

It also has a zipper:

I am loathe to zippers (that’s what buttons are for damnit) but there was no getting around it this time.

Pattern: <a Href=”http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/d4-shaped-dicebag“>D4 Dicebag</a> (Rav Link)

Yarn: Lime and Violet Intentions for the body, patons kroy 4ply for the numbers which I crocheted on

Almost finished the first insomnia sock, pictures forthcoming. Everything else is still being worked on, although the shawlette mostly because it’s easy and mindless and I like easy and mindless.

About sadieruin

Sadie is an intrepid fibre-file who can be found knitting, spinning, dying, or designing knit patterns when she's not at work. Her sock pattern "Mermaid's Lagoon" can be found in the Summer '09 issue of Knitty.com. Be sure to keep up with her knitting, spinning, dyeing (and occasionally weaving) exploits here.

2 responses »

  1. Hmm, the way I told you to link didn’t work. Does your blog allow you to add in HTML tags? Because it looks like it doesn’t, at least not with the current settings…

    And cute bag! I’m totally with you on wanting things that last. Hell, if I put that much time into it, it’d better last!

    • hmmm must dig into the account and make it HTML approved….
      It is a cute bag, manly perhaps? It’s cute in a masculine fashion. That’s what I’m telling myself anyway.

Leave a Reply

