sometimes

Standard

Okay so the gift was gifted, I think he liked it, and all is well on that.  Just in case anyone was wondering.

So sometimes the camera won’t do what you want it to (this is happening more and more these days, perhaps the ancient digicam needs to be retired) and dispite taking a bunch of shots you can not seem to find a way to show off the cables in the sock your knitting.

I’ve been working on Stephanie Japel’s Insomnia socks (<A Href=http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/insomnia-socks>Linky</A> ) lets see if the HTML works…

Anyway I’ve been working on them, and they are kind of mindblowing, the cables are easy / challenging enough that I can do the pattern when I’m in my classes, but not so easy that I want to fall asleep or bash myself over the head with a hammer.

I’m doing the two circ method and the yarn is cascade heritage (a good workhorse fall back yarn). Stephanie’s look amazing, I think I had the pattern in my queue as soon as I saw it, took me a while to get to knitting it but I digress. The pattern knits up so fast, it just zips along, which makes up for the fact that they’re toe up in my opinion (I am a cuff down whenever possible kinda gal). The one gripe I would have or would advise others about is the charts are small in the pattern, I recommend finding a photocopy machine and blowing them up (you may be more tech savvy than I and not require the photocopy machine). Blowing them up will save you heartache in the long run.

I might just break my no knitting school socks at home rule to get sock number one done as it requres the strechy sewn bind off.  For some reason I’ve got a massive wicked case of sock startitis (but lost my needle gauge so can’t really start another pair until this one is done).

Well I guess it is sunday, I should take a look at what I’m presenting on wednsday to class. PET scans and biomedical identity, good times.

About sadieruin

Sadie is an intrepid fibre-file who can be found knitting, spinning, dying, or designing knit patterns when she's not at work. Her sock pattern "Mermaid's Lagoon" can be found in the Summer '09 issue of Knitty.com. Be sure to keep up with her knitting, spinning, dyeing (and occasionally weaving) exploits here.

Leave a Reply

