cupcakes and yarn cakes

Standard

I know you were expecting me to say something knitting related right? Well that’s coming but first I thought I’d show off the efforts of my day, cupcakes, lots and lots of cupcakes.

I got lazy and all of them got chocolate frosting regardless of what kind they are. I used the cupcake cups I got when I went to Gales with Stacy so their all gloriously halloweeny. Yes I know its July, but Halloween is every day here in Sadie-ville. And these are going to be perfect for the Stephen King movie-a-thon tomorrow. Any leftovers shall be eaten more than likely before or on Dye Day which is sunday.

The yarn has been caked (not without dealing with a knot of epic proportion).  It looks different in the cake, so much prettier than I had expected so Huzzah!

Bebop thought I should show everyone that I’m actually working on Alhambra again. It’s not very far along (three repeats in) but I’ve picked it up again and its a nice treat to work with Wollmeise.

Basically I’m defragging from a long day of revision, the kind that leaves you wanting to curl up under a big fluffy duvet and forget you exist, making the cupcakes helped my sanity a bit, it feels good to make things when I’m all stressy. The downside is I now have three dozen cupcakes sitting in my kitchen telling me to eat them.

I plan to do no more this evening, or rather I’m going to watch episodes of season two of bones, drool over Zac (yeah thats right I said drool over Zac), and knit/card/game.

About sadieruin

Sadie is an intrepid fibre-file who can be found knitting, spinning, dying, or designing knit patterns when she's not at work. Her sock pattern "Mermaid's Lagoon" can be found in the Summer '09 issue of Knitty.com. Be sure to keep up with her knitting, spinning, dyeing (and occasionally weaving) exploits here.

3 responses »

  1. Stephen King Moviethon! Well, I’m jealous with a capital green. Our tiny tyrant forstalls any such delights, although he’s not been around so long that I’ve forgotten this important thing about King-Kino: Never ever view “Sleepwalkers” if you haven’t already. All you’re missing is lost time and the strain on your organs that anger produces.

    • Thanks to the library (did you know that neither blockbuster nor the rogers in the south end have even the basics like The Shining) where we got the tommyknockers and the shining, also put into the mix were IT, Shawshank Redemption, and stand by me.
      I haven’t seen sleepwalkers but I will take your word for it. The tommyknockers was a little bit of a strange one, but once the fact that it was a mini-series is taken into account it can be viewed in that “so bad it went back to being okay” catagory.

  2. Hooray the library. I will add belatedly to my warning that Sleepwalkers is not the kind of MST-able fun/bad anyone with the right sort of whimsy in their makeup can enjoy (Tommyknockers does slip into this territory now and then). It’s the sort of thing that you watch only because, having spent money on it you feel not wathcing will waste the effort it took to get that much money. Then you realize the money is wasted anyway, and you could have been doing something less awful like lancing boils with the time. It’s dumb/bad.

Leave a Reply

