Zombies, werewolves, coffee tables, and a jacket.

Standard

Friday during the day I was struck with a desire to accomplish something. So I took my leftover sandpaper and my small tin of mistinted paint ($5 dollars ya’ll) and redid my coffee table.  While I didnt end up having enough time to finish it (I want to put on at least one more coat of base paint and then stencil dancing skeletons around the edges) it does look a lot better now.

Bebop and Frankie approve of the new color. And really if the base of the coffee table is fine, why not just make it pretty again instead of buying a new one.

In knitterly news, because I don’t have a 6.5 mm circ (well I probably do but I can’t find one and really I need another project on the needles like another hole in the head) I picked up a project I’ve been working on slowly now that it’s been pulled out of it’s time out.

The weekend jacket, also known as the birthday jacket. I have started the back and have just passed the first armhole shaping. It’s super easy and the bulky weight of the yarn makes it even quicker, I project this will become a total necessity item in the fall. Just the back and sleeves remain, the front (having been reknit) is done.

Although I have been knitting my mind has been usurped with the last book I will read for fun this summer (i’m guessing anyway) Jane Slayre.

It’s a retelling. Lately there have been a lot of these books thrust into the literary world (Pride Prejudice and Zombies, Sense sensibility and sea monsters, Anna Karenandroid, Dawn of the Dreadfuls) and I haven’t really read much from them because I despise Jane Austin (I confess I may yet pick up Anna as I do like Tolstoy) . So far I’m enjoying it, which is telling as Jane Eyre is my most favorite of  19th century lit. Seriously the Bronte’s can do no wrong in my eyes (thus far I have not read Agnes Grey or Shirley yet but the rest I have).  So I’m splitting the majority of my lazy Sunday between knitting on the jacket and reading Jane Slayre. I do recommend it to anyone who digs zombies, werewolves, vampires, and the Bronte sisters, thus far it’s proving to be a tidy and enjoyable read.

About sadieruin

Sadie is an intrepid fibre-file who can be found knitting, spinning, dying, or designing knit patterns when she's not at work. Her sock pattern "Mermaid's Lagoon" can be found in the Summer '09 issue of Knitty.com. Be sure to keep up with her knitting, spinning, dyeing (and occasionally weaving) exploits here.

2 responses »

  1. I do love the Bronte sisters (even though I’ve only read Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights, I do still own Agnes Grey and I will get around to read it!). But I also adore Jane Austen. I think the only book of hers that I don’t like is Northanger Abbey (haven’t read Mansfield Park yet; the rest yes). As for Anna Karenina? Tried reading it, just couldn’t do it. Didn’t make it past the first 50 pages. Then again, I was 16 at the time so I may try it again when I’ve got the time.

    • Northanger Abbey is the only Austin I haven’t read, and while P&P is good, on the whole her style annoys me. Anna Karenina is a hard one, definitely not for the young or faint of heart, the Russian surnames get discombobulating. If your up for a nice peice of light reading though, I recommend Jane Slayre whole-heartedly.

Leave a Reply

