knitting, the masters student sanity interlude.

Standard

With two papers due in a short amount of time as well as a book to read for a seminar discussion my life has taken on the sheen of surreal. I try to work hard and get everything done, but life has a way of getting in the way no matter what.

It is enevitable that when I have papers due I immidiately need to do a million and one other things, or have these wicked cool ideas but am unable to do anything about them. Generally this is what occurs when academia makes demands on me. And these papers aren’t the kind I like writing, they are the kind that are mandatory but bring nothing to the table in terms of what I’m doing with my masters. Really, they are, for all intents and purposes, excersises in futility.

I’ve been working on my smocked cable coat while writing papers (its good to take a one row break when the mind gets all messy) when beatle isn’t passed out on it like she owns the damn thing. Beatle is my cat born in 1998, she is also my favorite (I know its wrong to say but whatever). She’s currently getting away with anything since my friend over at Ravens March (which is a wordpress blog for anyone interested – specializing in fountain pen goodness) has been having some very sad cat times, all revolving around cats born in 1998. It has made me snuggle with my brood a little more than usual and Beatle of course is reaping the benifits by being allowed to sleep on the works in progress.

Frankie is also enjoying the spoils of not being shunted off the yarn, although when it comes to Frank the yarn is well protected by plastic. Actually the yellow and brown stuff behind her is currently on the wheel and being spun up. Either way Frankie is enjoying her perch as the queen of bagged yarn on the chair.

And just for the record, I’m done the first pattern repeat of the second sock on the reptile socks for school. Since there was far too much reading and papers this week I haven’t gotten as far as I would have liked, but at least some of it got done, it’s soo pretty and perfect, I do love the Wollmeise, and the pattern is really good, I recommend it to anyone wanting to do beaded socks.

Until next time.

Peace.

About sadieruin

Sadie is an intrepid fibre-file who can be found knitting, spinning, dying, or designing knit patterns when she's not at work. Her sock pattern "Mermaid's Lagoon" can be found in the Summer '09 issue of Knitty.com. Be sure to keep up with her knitting, spinning, dyeing (and occasionally weaving) exploits here.

Leave a Reply

