the slogg (and other related ramblings)

Standard

Papers and readings and meetings oh my! Seriously my life has turned into some bizzaro balancing act where I come out feeling tired and stressed everytime I bother to wake up (well except for time with boyfriend because that is about the only non-knitting happy thing I have these days). Currently I should be working on a paper that is due tomorrow (I have asked for an extension and am waiting to see if I will get it, I really hope I do because last week totally sucked for everything).

See last week everything crashed (metaphorically, knock on wood) and subsiquently I had aboslutely no time or brainpower to get anything done let alone all the stuff on my plate.

I did manage to finish the hat for my nephew (a black watchcap very basic) for his halloween costume (he’s going to be a skeleton), although I didn’t manage to take a picture before giving it to my mom to pass on to my brother in case I didn’t get to see him before the weekend.

Friday night I took a “me” break from life and watched robin hood men in tights with alisha while spinning

This is the first ply of two that I’m doing, and the stuff I’m spinning is the alpaca puffs that were here previously. Basically I drumcarded: BFL, two different colors of hand dyed alpaca (from the alpaca Jude sent me), and some sari silk bits. Ideally I want to have this stuff spun up asap so I can knit a nice little christmas giftie for Jude as an appreciation for the bags of alpaca she sent me. My camera really doesn’t do it justice but since I have to put a new front window on my house (Sorry Raven’s March the old window must go as it sprung a leak and there’s no way around needing a new window), and of course living on a student budget with no time to work on the side for extra money really means I’m poorer than shit most if the time.

My in classes/mindless knitting has been my second pair of socktoberfest socks

(as pictured here with articles for the paper, and my printer seems to want to be the backdrop). I’m useing the mummy’s revenge socks from Rav, and then I changed the pattern a smidgen.

(my vain attempt at a close up)

I augmented the cable portion at least with the slants this way to be a knit second stitch through back loop slip first stitch without knitting. This is one of those slanted twists, and I just like the ease of it more than the one stitch cable, really it’s because I’m being horridly lazy. I also plan to do a sliped stitch heel flap gusset style heel, I’m not sure if thats what the pattern calls for or not (because I am too distacted to check at the moment). I am basically at the heel of the first sock, which makes me happy, also the colors make me happy, really the sock makes me happy, and trust me right now I need happiness.

About sadieruin

Sadie is an intrepid fibre-file who can be found knitting, spinning, dying, or designing knit patterns when she's not at work. Her sock pattern "Mermaid's Lagoon" can be found in the Summer '09 issue of Knitty.com. Be sure to keep up with her knitting, spinning, dyeing (and occasionally weaving) exploits here.

Leave a Reply

