Delusions of Grandeaur (and a book report due in the morning)

Standard

I finished spinning the alpaca and set the twist.

Then quickly set to work knitting up a shawl for Jude. It’s Lala’s Demeter Shawl available free on Rav (I’m having all kinds of issues with Links at the moment so go search).

I’m almost at the edging. I am loving the way it’s knitting up so far.

On the needles for me,

Twisted Ankles by Leethal. My god I love this woman. Seriously, I may make ten pairs, they’re easy and just odd enough that they suit me perfectly.

With christmas coming it seems I’m knitting a million things at once (and sometimes I am). But it’s all a good thing right? In the end it saves me money keeps me busy and keeps my stress levels lower, and let me tell you, they’re up there right now as the semester is coming to a close.

I got the sweetest package the other day from MechanicalDoll:

Frankie was very interested in what was in the box.

Some magical alpaca rovings. I’m contemplating spinning with some silk hankies… haven’t decided yet.

It was a much welcomed bit of joy.Many big thanks to the lovely Julie.

Lately I’ve been feeling… boring (for lack of a better word). Lacking the creative fervor that I often have. I feel like I’m doing all this knitting perfunctory sometimes. Like I’m dressing out of Schlub 101. It’s grating on me. I used to be able to throw together an outlandish outfit in minutes, now it’s all black pants and dark hoodies. This has got to change. I don’t like feeling gray, and really that is how I feel about most things to do with creation in my life. Maybe it’s the papers and the reading constantly, it doesn’t really allow me much in the way of time to do anything non-school related, let alone daydream up a pattern.

Hopefully that comes back after the next rounds of papers. I don’t think I can handle much more blah.

 

And a reminder, we’re closeing in on one week left to donate for the Wollmeise draw. Remember it’s for wonderful people and a wonderful cause. Maybe it’s closer to my heart because I have a similar problem as a result of brain tumors, maybe it’s cause these are just awesome people who I know will make amazing parents, maybe there are a million and one reasons. I recommend finding your own and donating something as small as $5 dollars, who knows maybe karma will have you win some spiffy stuff.

About sadieruin

Sadie is an intrepid fibre-file who can be found knitting, spinning, dying, or designing knit patterns when she's not at work. Her sock pattern "Mermaid's Lagoon" can be found in the Summer '09 issue of Knitty.com. Be sure to keep up with her knitting, spinning, dyeing (and occasionally weaving) exploits here.

Leave a Reply

