pre-christmas checking in

Standard

I know I know I haven’t been around, and probably won’t be as I am entering the christmas crunch. Basically this is the time where sleep and I we don’t talk and I knit like a mad fiend and block everything like crazy.

Unfortunatly last week was hell. Peatrie, the cat who graces these pages often, and is in fact the cat in the header picture for the blog scared me crapless. She really hadn’t bounced back after the bladder infection she had a few months ago, lately she was getting only moist food and whatever she demanded. I knew something was off with her as she started crying at the bathtub, but before I had much time to think or deal with that, the nightmare of every pet owner happened. I couldn’t find her, I took out the wet food and called for her, searched every nook I knew she hides in occasionally, and after 40 minutes had not been able to locate her. Finally I found her, she’d wormed her way through the cat barrier in the back landing and was sitting surrounded by bloody vomit next to the furnace. I touched her she growled, barely but she tried to growl, I picked her up and she cried hysterically. Not good not good at all. I brought her to the living room and set her on the couch she stood up and fell over, she couldn’t walk and she was crying non stop.

When she did finally sleep I was convinced that when I woke in the morning I would be one cat shy my usual full load. Crying and girlie behaviour ensued. I took her to the vet, and unlike her previous visits which had garnered her large caution signs she just sat there crying and shaking. Very un-Peatrie-like. I left her with them for the day having been briefed by the vet that it could be kidney failure as is seen in more older cats, she’d lost almost three pounds in the last few months having gone from 8.9 to 6.1. After they ran all the tests etc I got a call, a mixed blessing of a call, it’s not kidneys, Peatrie is severly diabetic. Her blood glucose was at 29, and the vet was almost postive the pukeing and everything was the edges of a seizure or a diabetic coma. Now several days into learning this and edging closer to a grand in vet and meds, her insulin is almost stabalized. This does mean that I had to do a 24 hour glucose check on her, which involved bleeding the poor love every four hours to check the levels. Which I will have to repeat christmas day/boxing day to see if the injections are fixing things. She’s also on twice daily insulin injections and glucose checks currently. This has also meant not a lot of knitting has been done, mostly I’m running on fumes and minimal sleep. But once she gets back to normal, and she is starting to mend, slowly but these things take time, I’ll be back up to snuff. I am glad that I am only one mandatory christmas present shy getting them all knitted up. I have a few mini extras that might get done christmas eve day or the day before pending completion of the last of the big ones.

All in all I’ve decided I’m not a fan of the month of December, I think the Counting Crows had it right when they sang: “It’s been a long December, and there’s reason to believe, maybe this year will be better than the last”. I’m hoping 2011 isn’t such a gong show, because this year I’ve realized some of my breaking points, and I’d rather not get stressed out this much and pushed to the brink again for a while.

About sadieruin

Sadie is an intrepid fibre-file who can be found knitting, spinning, dying, or designing knit patterns when she's not at work. Her sock pattern "Mermaid's Lagoon" can be found in the Summer '09 issue of Knitty.com. Be sure to keep up with her knitting, spinning, dyeing (and occasionally weaving) exploits here.

Leave a Reply

