FO’s fall downs, and mom don’t read this post ;)

Standard

Here’s the unblocked testknit for Lurlillisi, I’m not sure if she wants me to post better shots yet or not, and well it’s unblocked, but I’m chuffed since they’re predicting -40 something with the windchill tomorrow. Heavy layers will be the name of the game. It was a super quick knit and as soon as it becomes available I’ll link the crap out of it ๐Ÿ˜‰

In other knitterly news:

Josie’s Birthday gift, legwarmers, in pink, are done, and awaiting seaming. Then I shall be prepared for Saturday which will be a kids bowling party, I’m not exactly sure why I’m going or what exactly the single aunt with no offspring will bring to the festivities, but I do what I can.

And amidst the clutter of one of my fabric holding cabinets, the finished Yoga socks for Trista complete with care card and extra emergency yarn. For this pair I used STR Sock Candy in Robins Egg, and it took just a little over 1 oz. These of course are my own free pattern, feel free to yank it and knit it as many times as you please.

And now….

Mom, stop reading, I know you snoop here, but the rest of this entry is mom protected. Seriously don’t scroll further.

Alisha and I went on a re-con mission Friday after I dealt with some school stuff, and I splurged on some SOAK (a small bottle that is) in the Aquae smell, I haven’t used this smell before but totally enjoyed citrus so I know I won’t be displeased.

While we were at Hip 2 Knit (if you’re ever in regina stop by and say hi to Bill and Allison, they’re great people), I was on a mission to get some SeaWool for a new pair of Bordeaux socks for my mom. Which I want to have done for mothers day, which is in may so I got loads of time.

See I made her a pair of them years ago, almost eon’s it seems, back when I first started knitting socks. And mom being a knitter she took good care of them, and wore them to death. No seriously, DEATH, big gapeing hole in the toe death. Given how much she wore them it really is hard to believe they lasted that long.

So I set aside my yarn budget, and because it’s for a very specific project and a very specific gift, I wasn’t breaking my buying ban. I picked up this.

The skein on the left is the cake of Fleece Artist SeaWool, which will become socks probably rather fast as they’re knit on a funny gauge and take no time at all to bam out.

But of course the socks have to wait, Kathy (a friend of mine) is due to pop in February and I would be remiss if I didn’t finish this Feb. Baby Sweater for her future offspring. But baby knits are quick… sure that’s what I’m telling myself ๐Ÿ˜‰

About sadieruin

Sadie is an intrepid fibre-file who can be found knitting, spinning, dying, or designing knit patterns when she's not at work. Her sock pattern "Mermaid's Lagoon" can be found in the Summer '09 issue of Knitty.com. Be sure to keep up with her knitting, spinning, dyeing (and occasionally weaving) exploits here.

Leave a Reply

