Yarnivore Ep 3

Standard

[blip.tv http://blip.tv/play/AYKl7HsA%5D

The Set List (oh see how I tie that musical theme in, look at me go)

First off BIG LOVE to all the fellow podcasters whom I love and adore for mentioning me, everyone should check them out I have a list going on the right hand side of the blog, go give them a watch cause they put the awesome in the awesomesauce.
Second, thanks for all the great comments on who you all would knit for, I got some giggles I hope everyone else did.

FO’s.
There is only one FO this week and that my dears is:
L’Amoure et la Morte

On the needles:
Sade Mittens by the lovely Luliriisi who has sent me a voice file of how to say her name so I no longer butcher the crap out of it 😉
Larix Shawl by A. Wiedmayer. This shawl will suck your soul and make you obsessed with it, you have been forwarned.
Caf*Pow socks, I’m using the YarnHarlot’s Sock Recipe to make them, it’s my go to standard pattern.

Future Knits:
Betiko by Leethal.Big love for all things Leethal, check out her patterns and her crafting tutorials, she is a genius I’m almost positive.

Musical Interlude:
Tom Holliston. Give him a listen, check out his songs, the song referenced today “Fussin with the Tussin” can be purchased at iTunes for .99 cents, well worth it in my opinion.
Also the punk band he’s in, Nomeansno has been a Canadian punk institution for a long time. Feel free to check them out, they’re good intelligent fun.

Misc stuff:
Of course Bad Amy her yarns get posted on the etsy occasionally and her bags are glorious, her shop should start beefing up after the March craft fair season is over for her.
Jpod is a book and a short lived Canadian mini-series by Douglas Coupland.
Harold and Maude possibly one of the best movies you’ve never seen. Interesting side note, Douglas Coupland often refers to himself as a Harold and has cited the movie as an influence at least once that I know of. So if you like one, you’ll probably like the other.
I forgot to mention Knittin on the Fly by name but I love the vid-cast and think everyone else should to!
kNotes for kNitters for all your fiber care card needs.

Last but not least, a Rav group is in the works, should be live before the next episode, I’ll keep everyone updated on that, hope the Blip is working well (switched from iTunes), and I’ll see ya soon.

About sadieruin

Sadie is an intrepid fibre-file who can be found knitting, spinning, dying, or designing knit patterns when she's not at work. Her sock pattern "Mermaid's Lagoon" can be found in the Summer '09 issue of Knitty.com. Be sure to keep up with her knitting, spinning, dyeing (and occasionally weaving) exploits here.

28 responses »

    • I’m such a Leethal fangirl it borders on sad. I swear if there were t-shirts for it I’d have 12. 😉
      I didn’t know that the magnet is the rack, no wonder I get so much crazy…

  1. We just have to find out what the crazy magnet’s kryptonite is ASAP!
    Great, now I have the song Kryptonite by 3 doors down stuck in my head. Sorry, I get distracted by shiny things. >.>

    Love those skull stitch markers!

    • I got the glow in the dark ones in a halloween swap years ago, and they are my favorite go to stitch markers, I really need to find more, they’re just perfect.
      If I go crazy well will you still call me superman? I’m just as easily distracted by shiny things 😉

  2. Harold and Maude. Yeeeeeees. One of my favorite movies ever. Bud Cort has not aged well but I will always love him because he will always be Harold. Also, love me some Cat Stevens, years ago I dubbed Sad Lisa as my theme song.

    “Everyone has the right to make an ass out of themselves. You can’t let the world judge you too much.” (that’s probably badly quoted but I love it)

    • God yes!
      I think I have a girl-crush on you now.
      I give But Cort some leeway because of the car accident, almost dying will make people age like crap I think.

      And I use that quote all the time, usually when doing something rediculous in public.

      • Yup horrible almost disfiguring car wreck shortly after H&M which is why he was out of the biz so long. Apparently Groucho Marx nursed him back to health and they lived together for a while. Also, he really did have a thing with Ruth Gordon. My arcane knowledge of H&M stuff is vast mwahaha.

  3. another great episode:) wonder if i were to actually knit the starving artist for ani if i could actually get it to her? 🙂 that’d be awesome. also, love your reference to Eva. my g-ma used to play the soundtrack to Evita (the original version) in the car, and so i know All the words, and Love it. now i need to find that on itunes! will def give your music choice a check as well:) i was thinking when you first mentioned themes “music could be her theme”…very strange! 🙂

    • I have a small obsession with the musical Evita, the broadway soundtrack is by far superior to anything Madonna has ever done.
      I’m glad you’re enjoying the show 🙂

      • yeah, we listened to the broadway soundtrack all the time on cassette tape! in the car, and we always sang along, LOUDLY. my g-ma was a lot of fun:) i love madonna but yeah…original is so much better!

  4. Another great episode!! I am going to LOVE the new Music segment! I am a HUGE music lover and I love all types 🙂 Did you start a Rav group yet??? We need one . . .

    • The rav group is on it’s way, I’ve been talking with a wonderful artist to get a header done up, should be live soon 😉
      I’m glad you like the music segment, it seemed apropriate for me, given how much music I actually listen to/own. 🙂

  5. Another great episode!!I am gonna be lovin’ the new Music Segment, I LOVE LOVE LOVE Music of all kinds!! Did you start a Rav group yet? We need one..

  6. Hi, I’m a new listener/watcher via The Knitgirrrls Rav board; love the podcast! The knitting world needs more video podcasts (and I need more time to watch them).

    I’d knit for Adrian Paul or Peter Wingfield; I’m a Highlander fan from way back. And I have to disagree with you on the hair — it works on some men. Like Christian Kane (with his trademark “yeah, go ahead and call me a girl” smirk). I’d knit for Christian, but I’m pretty sure he’d appreciate a bottle of Jack Daniels a lot more.

    Looking forward to the next episode!

  7. Question. Why is Blip preferred to Youtube for videoblogs? I loved your first two videos and had no problems streaming them but my computer seems to hate Blip. Or maybe its my ailing modem that hates Blip. But I have noticed that a lot of the vblogs Ive found so far are on Blip. I am sure there must be some nifty advantage from the posting side and was curious what it was.

    • Youtube only allows a little over 10 minutes, and it can be quite stressful to try and cram everything in. Personally I find the quality of blip a little better. Also for getting onto iTunes you need to have a quicktime version of the podcast, which blip does automatically thusly you can get on iTunes faster. If you think Quicktime would work easier than the Blip player there are links for that on the blip site, for instance mine is http://yarnivore.blip.tv/rss/itunes/ . I’m sorry it hurts your modem *offers it a cookie*

      • Thank you. I knew there had to be a reason. I am still slowly working through your third episode (yes I know how many hours later it is). I will try the link you posted. I must really like you to keep nursing the connection along like this *laugh*

  8. Just found your podcast. Really enjoyed it. Love your sense of humor…(this ep brought to you by Tom Waits!) Haven’t heard a mention of Harold and Maude in forever, but I love that movie. And I would totally buy the hot naked guys in knit socks calendar. What exactly is medical anthropology?

    • Glad you’re enjoying the podcast 🙂
      Medical anthropology is the study of medicine in culture, not necessarily bio-medicine but healing and healing practices in various societies.

Leave a Reply

