Episode 7 – Issues

Standard

[blip.tv http://blip.tv/play/AYKtnDUA%5D

Set List:
FO’s
Mom’s Secret Present

WIP’s
Brunello By Amy Swenson in Lorna’s Laces Green Line DK in Black Purl.
Betiko Which I’m thinking about Frogging, to start a different colored one, tell me what you think.
Wahclella Falls in Bad Amy Stripy Sock

Spinning:
Strawberry Mint 319 yards of Romney,Alpaca, and Sari Silk

Everything else:
Betiko KAL on the Yarnivorous Board at Rav Come and join us knitting the gorgeous Betiko šŸ˜€
Last call for T-shirt’s come and tell me if you want one.

Podcasts mentioned:
Suzee knits (in the sidebar)
Addicted to Yarn (in the sidebar)

Musical Interlude (aka music to knit and spin by):
THE TRAGICALLY HIP


Music at Work off the Music@Work Album

Courage off the Fully Completely Album

Live version of Grace, too off the Day for Night album

Nautical Disaster off the Day for Night Album (my personal favorite).

Happy listening.

About sadieruin

Sadie is an intrepid fibre-file who can be found knitting, spinning, dying, or designing knit patterns when she's not at work. Her sock pattern "Mermaid's Lagoon" can be found in the Summer '09 issue of Knitty.com. Be sure to keep up with her knitting, spinning, dyeing (and occasionally weaving) exploits here.

13 responses »

  1. OK someday when I grow up (yes I am aware that I’m 48 lol) I am going to learn how to spin and once I do you have to let me know what thwacked(sp) is. Are you in the mob? LOL
    You better move out here, I get to be your BC mom!!!!!! WOOO! We can do a vlog/podcast whatever together. hehe!

    • Darn tootin we can šŸ˜€
      Thwacked is a semi-not-really-technical term for what you do to wet yarn when setting the twist. Once it’s soaked for a few minutes (I leave mine a generous 25 minutes) you take it and gently squeeze out excess water, then roll it in a towel and step on it to get out more water… then you take the moist skein (I do this in the bathtub) and thwack it against a wall good and proper, it evens out the twist and plys for a more balanced yarn. Plus it gets out excess pent up agression šŸ˜‰

      • Well now, as suspected, I think I would like a good thwacking…err ummm I mean I would like give the yarn a good twacking…yeah that’s it! Wait, that sounds just as dirty! Oh well. Now I just have to get going on the purchase of a spindle, learning to spin and all that jazz.

  2. I keep trying to watch the podcast here, but the little circle thing in the middle just keeps spinning and spinning. Other ones have worked for me tonight, so I’m assuming it isn’t a Blip issue for once…??

    • Weirdness, it’s still working fine for me. WordPress was having issues a little earlier, and well blip always has issues I’ll go poke it and see if I can find any problems. Thanks for the heads up šŸ™‚

  3. Oh dear un-perky Sadie, I just want to reach through the interwebs and hug you. I am sorry you are feeling so blah. I hope the grading goes well. If all else fails give everyone an A-.
    The Brunello is looking fantastic! You are knitting that so quickly. I think it would take me at least 2 months to complete a sweater along with other projects. Once again You are AWESOME!
    I think you should totally rip out the betiko and restart it in strawberry mint.

    • LOL I wish I could have some of them got crazy bad marks seriously there was a 20% in there.
      The brunello is amazingly easy, seriously when you make it you’ll be shocked and amazed. The applied lace took the longest the body just kind of knits itself. šŸ˜‰
      I’m going to frog the betiko tonight and start the new one tomorrow if the yarn is dry from being set šŸ˜€

  4. Hello there!! I hope you feel better soon – I can sympathize with the grading and the grad school blahs in general … but your show is lovely (even more so now that you’re pimping the Hip) and I will totally join your coffee group when you make it out to the west coast!

    Hope everything gets better … and rip the effing thing out – it’s probably not helping your mood šŸ˜‰

    • The more the merrier when I get out to the coast šŸ˜‰
      I don’t think I really had a choice in liking the Hip my brother is an uber fan, I pale in comparison to his adoration lol.
      I’ll frog the Betiko tonight and hopefully start tomorrow on the new version, if the yarn is dry from being set hehe.

  5. rip it rip it…..as the frog would say.You know if you don’t rip it you’ll never be satisfied girlfriend! And once you take that first initial pull on the yarn you feel freedom of having made a decision,and no turning back.
    So sad to see you so tired.That’s what you look like to me is tired.When life takes a crap on everywhere you turn, well just shovel the shit out of the way and keep on moving foreward!!! Have a Happy week and will be waiting for your next vid cast.
    p.s. oh by the way your kitty has an absolutely beautiful face.It was kinda funny her tail was in your face alot and you just kept plugging along……funny:o)

    • So right, so very right, I’m going to frog it tonight. I am tired, very tired, but I have hope that this too shall pass, gotta keep the right mind set.
      Peatrie is definitely a show stealer, she’s going on 15 this year and has severe diabetes so she gets away with murder, I’m so used to having tails in my face it doesn’t even stop me anymore, if you look at her ears you’ll notice both of them are nubs, when I got her she had been feral up north and both of them were so badly frost bitten she lost most of them. Don’t let her sweetness fool you though, I’ve seen her beat the bejesus out of a full grown golden retriever.

Leave a Reply

